Skip to main content

The Commission on the Accreditation of
Programs in Applied and Clinical Sociology


The August 2020 Annual CAPACS Board Meeting will be Conducted via Secure Zoom Videoconference

On Tuesday, April 28th, 2020, Meeting Services for the American Sociological Association (ASA) notified the Commission on the Accreditation of Programs in Applied and Clinical Sociology (CAPACS or the Commission) of the cancellation of the 115th Annual Meeting of the American Sociological Association in San Francisco in August due to the COVID-19 pandemic. For more information, please consult the official ASA conference cancellation statement from Executive Director, Dr. Nancy Kidd.

Accordingly, the Commission will conduct a secure Zoom videoconference (with password and waiting room enabled) for the August 2020 Annual CAPACS Board Meeting in lieu of the face-to-face Board meeting at ASA in San Francisco.

Please click on the Doodle link to indicate your preferred dates between Monday, August 10th and Friday, August 14th, 2020, for participating in the August 2020 Annual CAPACS Board Meeting via secure Zoom Videoconference.

In consideration of our colleagues who reside on the West Coast of the United States and in Johannesburg, South Africa, the scheduled time for the four-hour meeting is 12:00 - 4:00 PM, Eastern (11:00 AM - 3:00 PM, Central; 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM, Mountain; and 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM, Pacific), which corresponds to 6:00 - 10:00 PM, for Johannesburg, South Africa.

CAPACS Annual Board Meeting at ASA in San Francisco -- Cancelled

Event Name: 2020 CAPACS Board Meeting: Commission on the Accreditation of Programs in Applied and Clinical Sociology
Event Date and Time: Monday, August 10; 6:30—10:30 PM
Facility: Hilton San Francisco Union Square (333 O’Farrell Street; San Francisco, CA 94102; Tel: +1-415-771-1400; FAX: +1-415-202-7798; To talk to a hotel expert, call: +1-855-786-4702)
Room Assignment: Union Square Room 9, at the San Francisco Hilton Union Square, Tower 3, Fourth Floor (see floor plan below)

Maps & Directions:

Union Square meeting rooms

Local Attractions and Restaurants in San Francisco:

CAPACS Display Table

ASA will provide CAPACS with details on table space for displaying the Commission's literature, brochures, and informational materials at the ASA Annual Meeting closer to the conference date. Please bookmark this web page, or return to the CAPACS website, soon, for details.